Welsh Open 2021: Shaun Murphy and Judd Trump reach second round

The Ray Reardon Trophy and £70,000 is awarded to the winner of the 2021 Welsh Open.
Dates: 15-21 February Venue: Celtic Manor Resort, Newport
Coverage: Watch live on BBC Two Wales, BBC iPlayer, BBC Red Button, BBC Sport website and the BBC Sport app. Highlights on BBC Two Wales, online and the BBC Red Button.

Defending champion Shaun Murphy and world number one Judd Trump have reached the Welsh Open second round.

Murphy beat fellow Englishman Zak Surety 4-1 while Trump saw off China’s Zhao Jianbo 4-2 in round one.

China’s Ding Junhui earlier earned a 4-1 win over compatriot Lyu Haotian while England’s Elliot Slessor beat Welshman Ben Fortey 4-2.

Wales’ Lee Walker also lost his first round match 4-1 to England’s Mark Davis.

A minute’s silence was held for Welsh snooker legend Doug Mountjoy before round one play started.


Round one

Joe Perry (Eng) 4-3 Chang Bingyu (Chn)

Pang Junxu (Chn) 4-0 Allan Taylor (Eng)

Andy Hicks (Eng) 3-4 David Lilley (Eng)

Simon Lichtenberg (Ger) 4-2 Riley Parsons (Eng)

Li Hang (Chn) 0-4 Martin O’Donnell (Eng)

Shaun Murphy (Eng) 4-1 Zak Surety (Eng)

Judd Trump (Eng) 4-2 Zhao Jianbo (Chn)

Allan Taylor (Eng) 0-4 Pang Junxu (Chn)

Matthew Selt (Eng) 4-0 Lukas Kleckers (Ger)

Liang Wenbo (Chn) 1-4 Joe O’Connor (Eng)

James Cahill (Eng) 0-4 Matthew Stevens (Wal)

Sean Maddocks (Eng) 3-4 Jamie O’Neill (Eng)

Eden Sharav (Isr) 2-4 Andrew Higginson (Eng)

Anthony McGill (Sco) 4-0 Louis Heathcote (Eng)

Brian Ochoiski (Fra) 4-1 Paul S Davison (Eng)

Gary Wilson (Eng) 4-2 Ashley Hugill (Eng)

Xio Gudong (Chn) 4-0 Iulian Boiko (Ukr)

Jordan Brown (NIr) 4-0 Luo Honghao (Chn)

Source link

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button